Today is the day. The press release is here: https://bit.ly/1ooKG8u
We want everyone to know that our family's Gluten Free Prairie bakery is fully compliant with the new FDA regulations.
If you’d like more information about the FDA's new ruling, I have done the heavy-lifting for you and tried to keep it as short as possible. You can see it here:
1) What food products are covered by the FDA gluten-free labeling ruling?
- All FDA-regulated foods
- Dietary Supplements (vitamins, minerals, herbs, amino acids)
- Imported food products that are subject to FDA regulations
- Meat, poultry and unshelled eggs (and any other products regulated by the USDA)
- Distilled spirits and wines that contain 7% or more alcohol by volume*
- Malted beverages made with malted barley or hops*
* The FDA is deferring to Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) regarding malted beverages “modified” to deactivate the gluten molecule. Currently they cannot be labeled “gluten-free”.
2) May oats be labeled gluten-free?
Oats that contain less than 20 ppm of gluten may be labeled "gluten-free." Oats do not need to be certified gluten-free.
3) Will there be a symbol to identify foods that meet the FDA definition of gluten-free?
NO. The FDA has determined that consumers favor the label "gluten-free" to communicate that a food is free of gluten. Manufacturers are allowed to include a symbol as long as it is truthful and not misleading. Currently, no gluten-free certification is required.
4) After August 5, 2014, what food products may be labeled gluten-free?
A food product regulated by the FDA may be labeled gluten-free if:
1. It does NOT contain wheat, rye, barley or their crossbred hybrids like triticale (a gluten-containing grain) OR
2. It contains a gluten-containing grain or an ingredient derived from a gluten-containing grain that has been processed to less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten.
5) May food products that are naturally gluten-free be labeled "gluten-free"?
Yes. Food products that are naturally gluten-free, like bottled spring water or tomatoes, may be labeled "gluten-free."
6) Are manufacturers required to test for gluten to label a product "gluten-free"?
NO. Manufacturers are not required to test for the presence of gluten in ingredients or in the finished "gluten-free" labeled food product. However, they are responsible for ensuring that the food product meets all labeling requirements. Individual manufacturers need to determine how they will ensure this.
7) How will the FDA enforce gluten-free labeling requirements after August 5, 2014?
The FDA may perform food label reviews, follow-up on consumer and industry complaints, and analyze food samples. Consumers and manufacturers may report a complaint to an FDA Consumer Complaint Coordinator in the state where the food was purchased. A list of FDA Coordinators is here: https://1.usa.gov/oE87y
Also, for those of you who may be following us and our progress on the re-opening of our Gluten-Free Prairie Bakery. As you may know, in March our Bakery was devastated by a 100 yr. flood. My son, Jeremy edited the story. It's pretty quick. You can watch it here here:GF Bakery Devasted by Flood
Thanks for stopping by today.